• Lower Dauphin School District

    Curriculum Guide

    Course Title: Government and the Americas  Subject: Social Studies  Grade Level(s): 6

    Synopsis of Curriculum

    The sixth grade curriculum is comprised of 4 major units:  JA BizTown Economics, United States Government, North America, and South America.  We don’t necessarily agree with immigration...

    • Economics: You will learn about money, careers, taxes, and basic economic flow.
    • United States Government: We explore our government’s structure and responsibilities, major documents, leaders, and current events.
    • North and South America: These units involve learning the physical geography, history, culture, and government of each region.  The five themes of geography are incorporated into these units to classify information learned.  Lastly, we use information about the United States to compare and contrast the countries that border the United States as well as the countries of South America.


    Units of Study Titles

    Economics via JA BizTown

    United States Government

    Five Themes of Geography

    North America

    South America