• Lower Dauphin School District

    Curriculum Guide


    Subject:  STEM                     Grade Level(s):  Fourth


    Synopsis of Curriculum

    The STEM curriculum for fourth grade is divided into six general areas: Forces and Interactions; Energy; Waves; Structure, Function and Information Processing; Earth's Systems; Engineering Design; and, Coding.  Fourth grade students will learn how can one explain and predict interactions between objects within systems, how energy is transferred and conserved, how waves are used to transfer energy and information, and how organisms live, grow, and respond to their environment. Fourth grade students will learn how and why the Earth is constantly changing and how Earth’s processes and human activities affect each other. Fourth grade students will also be introduced to coding and how computer science is a foundational skill for all students. 



    Units of Study Titles

    Forces and Interactions


    Waves: Waves and Information

    Structure, Function and Information Processing

    Earth's Systems: Processes that Shape the Earth

    Engineering Design